Undrop a table in Snowflake / How to use time-travel on a dropped table in Snowflake
Dropping a Snowflake table does not permanently remove it from the system. A version of the dropped table is retained in Time Travel for the number of days specified by the DATA_RETENTION_TIME_IN_DAYS parameter for the table:
- Within the Time Travel retention period, a dropped table can be restored using the UNDROP TABLE command
After dropping a table, creating a table with the same name creates a new version of the table. The dropped version of the previous table can still be restored using the following method:
- Rename the current version of the table to a different name.
- Use the UNDROP TABLE command to restore the previous version.
For Example, consider you dropped table t1, and you created the table t1 again. To recover the data:
ALTER TABLE t1 RENAME TO t1_Backup;
undrop table t1;
Enjoy great content like this and a lot more !
Signup for a free account to write a post / comment / upvote posts. Its simple and takes less than 5 seconds